Occasional Series on Australian Editors

  • Print

The Occasional Series on Australian Editors is an archival and publishing project underway since November 2004. The principal aim of the project is to raise the profile of Australian editors and the editing profession. The idea for the Occasional Series came from One of the First and One of the Finest, commissioned by the Editors Victoria president, Lisa Berryman, and published in 1991.

In 2005, at the National Editors' Conference in Melbourne, the Occasional Series working group hosted and recorded a panel session, "Some of the Finest: Honorary Life Members". Interviews with honorary life members were also facilitated and recorded at the conference. The result of this foundation work was the first volume in the series Editors in Conversation (Australian Scholarly Publishing, 2007). Editors profiled were Sheila Allison, Pamela Ball, Robyn Colman, Lee White, Beryl Hill, Wendy Sutherland, Renée Otmar and Loma Snooks. The book was launched by Gina Mercer at the National Editors' Conference in Hobart in 2007.

During 2007 and 2008, more conversations were recorded with honorary life members - Basil Walby, Nick Hudson, Colin Jevons, Teresa Pitt, Ruth Dixon and Jackie Yowell (Vic), Barbara Ker Wilson (NSW and Qld) and Janette Whelan (Qld). This material was published in Editors in Conversation 2 (Editors Victoria, 2009). The book also includes an abridged version of a presentation by Julie Watts, former executive publisher at Penguin Books Australia, outlining her role in working with Li Cunxin to publish Mao's Last Dancer. Editors in Conversation 2 was launched in 2009 by Pamela Ball at the National Editors' Conference in Adelaide and by Bryony Cosgrove in Melbourne.

In November 2009, the Occasional Series working group deposited the print and digital archives with the Australian Manuscripts Collection at the State Library of Victoria. The archives can be accessed and viewed by appointment in the Heritage Collections Reading Room, or in some instances in the Australian Manuscripts Reading Room.

Kerry Biram, Diane Brown (convenor) and Jenny Craig were presented with Outstanding Service Awards for their significant contribution to the Occasional Series project by Editors Victoria's president, Melanie Dankel, in 2009.