Your Society Needs You

As we welcome the new year, we farewell two of our hardworking committee members, Cass Ball (Accreditation Board Delegate) and Kristy Burt (Membership). Not only are we looking for people to fill their shoes, we are also searching for someone to take on the very important role of overseeing the Editors Victoria website content and being our voice on social media.

If you'd like to be part of the Editors Victoria committee, we'd love to hear from you. All new committee members will be fully briefed on their roles and will be fully supported by the rest of the committee as they take up their new positions.

Our meetings are held every two months at the Fitzroy Library. All committee members receive discounts on dinner meetings and training.

Accreditation Board Delegate

This is a vital role that ensures that Editors Victoria has a voice on the national Accreditation Board. Board meetings are held by teleconference, so you can phone in from your home or workplace. Delegates participate in meetings, teleconferences, email discussions and other Accreditation Board activities. All members contribute to decision making on the policy and administrative aspects of the accreditation scheme.

NB: Members of the Accreditation Board must be either Accredited Editors or Distinguished Editors.

Membership Officer

The Membership Officer responds to members' queries, collates all membership applications to present to the committee and oversees member surveys. We are in the process of moving to a web-based membership system that will streamline much of this work.

Website/Social Media Officer

This new position would involve checking the Editors Victoria website to ensure all content is up-to-date and relevant, liaising with our web manager and maintaining a presence on social media, including Facebook and Twitter.

If you are interested in joining the committee but you can't see yourself in any of these positions, contact us anyway. We've always got room for more!

For more information, email the Editors Victoria President.